The Long & Winding Road to The Lakes

This is the undulating and winding road from that runs down from the Kirkstone Pass to Ambleside in the Lake District.

The Lake District, or The Lakes, is a mountainous region in Cumbria, North West England and is a popular holiday destination in UK. The majority of the area was designated as the Lake District National Park in 1951. It is the largest of the thirteen National Parks in England and Wales, and the second largest in the UK (after the Cairngorms). It lies entirely within the modern county of Cumbria, shared historically by the counties of CumberlandWestmorland and Lancashire. All the land in England higher than three thousand feet above sea level lies within the National Park, including Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England. It also contains the deepest and longest lakes in England, Wastwater and Windermere, respectively.


Only one of the lakes in the Lake District is called by that name, Bassenthwaite Lake. All the others such as Windermere, Coniston Water, Ullswater and Buttermere are meres, tarns and waters, with mere being the least common and water being the most common. The major lakes and reservoirs in the National Park are given below.
  • Bassenthwaite Lake
  • Brotherswater
  • Buttermere
  • Coniston Water
  • Crummock Water
  • Derwent Water
  • Devoke Water
  • Elter Water
  • Ennerdale Water
  • Esthwaite Water
  • Grasmere
  • Haweswater Reservoir
  • Hayeswater
  • Loweswater
  • Rydal Water
  • Thirlmere
  • Ullswater
  • Wast Water
  • Windermere


Conniston Water

Steamer on Ullswater


One thought on “The Long & Winding Road to The Lakes

Leave a Reply